209

Troglodytic dwellings, châteaux, vineyards, and sheer cliffs… The corniche along the Gironde Estuary is the scenic route between villages and a way of taking a trip back in time.

A wild sort of charm

Route de la corniche
Charme sauvage

The corniche road wending its way along the Gironde can be reached shortly after leaving Blaye, heading towards Plassac. It offers an impressive panorama of the estuary. Nestled between sheer cliffs on one side and the river on the other, the road is unforgettably picturesque.

So much so, in fact, that it is hard to take everything in as you drive. You will be delighted with the beautiful scenery, the charming houses, and the explosion of colours as soon as you go on the corniche. The Bec d’Ambes, where the Garonne meets the Dordogne, and the islands are on one side. There are numerous information panels and lovely vantage points along the way.

The road goes past rolling countryside, as well as beautiful hamlets and houses, each more attractive than the last.

It seems impossible to choose the most appealing part of the road since it offers such a wide diversity of sights such as carrelets, or fishing huts on stilts, as well as fishermen’s houses and troglodyte dwellings dating from the 15th and 17th centuries on the cliff face. Panels at every turn encourage visitors to discover châteaux and vineyards. The transition between the Côtes de Blaye and the Côtes de Bourg takes place naturally and imperceptibly.

One eye on history and the other on the road 

The road drops all of a sudden, making me pay full attention to my driving. As I come closer to the river, I see hiking trails and mountain bike tracks enabling the most energetic and motivated to climb up the cliff.

Going along the corniche by bike gives an even better view because automobile drivers have to be much more attentive to the road’s twists and turns. Fortunately, the vantage points are in lay-bys where it is easy to park and admire the view.

I stop at the one opposite the Bec d’Ambes, near Château Tayac, featuring a wonderful panorama of the estuary. An orientation table helps me to get my bearings and learn about local history. Behind me, vines stretch as far as the eye can see. There are also stone towers within sight, vestiges of the medieval period.

A magical atmosphere

I go back on the corniche and the estuary is soon hidden by small gardens at the bottom of the cliff. Oleanders, palm trees, and banana trees thrive here, giving a unique cachet to nearby houses. My attention is attracted by strange silhouettes I can see through the leaves. Metal creatures seem to be romping in the middle of a small meadow!

They also appear to have something to do with the driftwood sculptures I saw near the riverbank.  The mystery is soon solved. An inhabitant of Roque de Thau explains that these are all part of the Les Revenants (or The Ghosts) exhibition displaying the works of 12 artists in 11 communes in the Gironde department.

This excellent initiative goes along beautifully with the location’s intrinsic magic. This enchanting moment lasts a few minutes, before the road goes inland to open once again onto vineyards and attractive old buildings.

Arriving in Bourg-sur-Gironde brings me once again closer to the estuary. This ancient village shares something in common with Blaye: built on a rocky outcrop, both are historic towns with impressive vantage points.

A town marked by history

Route de la corniche
Maison mauresque de Bourg-en-Gironde

You probably need to be in good shape to walk around Bourg because there are over 500 steps leading from the upper part of town to the lower part.  Strolling through the medieval streets, I come across a few anachronisms. Visible from the port, a surprising Villa Mauresque, or Moorish Villa, built by a former colonial administrator, is located on the banks of the Dordogne.

A bit further along, the Frisco, an Italian ship sunk by the Germans in 1944, sticks out of the water even at high tide. It is seen locally as a sort of Loch Ness monster… Reaching the bottom of the stone stairs from the Château de la Citadelle, I end up in a pleasant waterside park with a pond and a small island, ideal for a picnic before going back on the road.

Léger détour pour relier les différents villages du coin, la route de la Corniche offre un panorama époustouflant sur l’Estuaire de la Gironde et les différentes architectures. La seule difficulté réside dans la difficulté à concilier observation du paysage et conduite sur certaines portions. Néanmoins, rien ne nous empêche de rouler tranquillement pour profiter des nombreux charmes du paysage.

The scenic route

As only a slight detour linking the region’s various villages, the corniche provides a breathtaking view of the Gironde estuary and the many different types architecture found there. The only challenge at certain points is to balance the pleasure of taking in the sights with driving carefully. However, if you go along at a slow pace, nothing should prevent you for enjoying the corniche’s numerous charms.  For people who are not in a hurry, stopping at the vantage points and going along the hiking paths is probably the best way to appreciate the lay of the land and the beautiful houses.  Stopping at attractive hamlets is an ideal way of breaking up the trip along the corniche. These also provide a nice contrast between the arid cliffs and sea of vines, as well as a deeper historical perspective.

Although a trip along the corniche takes a few minutes longer than the main road between Blaye and Bourg, it is definitely worth taking the extra time, and confirms the saying that what is important is not the destination – it’s the going there

2k

Maisons troglodytes, châteaux, champs de vignes et falaises abruptes… Le long de l’Estuaire de la Gironde, la route de la Corniche se fait chemin des écoliers pour relier entre eux les villages en s’offrant un voyage dans le temps.

Charme sauvage

Route de la corniche
Charme sauvage

Rapidement rattrapée en partant de Blaye, direction Plassac, la route de la Corniche qui serpente le long de la Gironde offre un panorama impressionnant sur l’Estuaire. Enclavée entre les falaises abruptes qui d’un côté la dominent et de l’autre la soutiennent, elle présente à l’œil du voyageur un paysage des plus pittoresque.

Difficile de savoir où fixer le regard. Sitôt la route rejointe, des explosions de couleurs et de décors plus charmants les uns que les autres attirent l’œil du conducteur. D’un côté, une ouverture remarquable sur le bec d’Ambes et les îles, ponctuée de nombreux panneaux explicatifs et de points de vue permettant d’apprécier au mieux la beauté du paysage.

Partout autour, des paysages vallonnés et des lieu-dits ravissants où se succèdent des demeures toutes plus belles les unes que les autres.

Il semble impossible d’élire son passage préféré tant  la route offre une diversité de styles et d’attraits. Le long du chemin, on peut apprécier des cabanes à carrelets, des maisons de pêcheurs et des maisons troglodytiques des 15ème et 17ème siècles nichées dans des falaises calcaires. A chaque virage, des panneaux proposent de découvrir des châteaux et des vignobles, la transition se faisant naturellement entre Côtes de Blaye et Côtes de Bourg.

Un œil sur l’Histoire, l’autre sur la route

Tout d’un coup, la route de la corniche plonge, m’obligeant à quitter des yeux les alentours pour me concentrer sur le trajet. Tandis que je me rapproche du niveau du fleuve, des sentiers de randonnée et des pistes vtt apparaissent, permettant aux plus audacieux d’escalader la falaise.

Parcourir cette route à vélo doit en effet permettre de mieux apprécier la vue, car les virages et l’absence de garde-fou oblige l’automobiliste à rester très attentif à sa conduite. Heureusement, des points de vue sont régulièrement aménagés avec la possibilité de se garer et de profiter pleinement du paysage.

Je m’arrête à celui du Bec d’Ambes, véritable panorama sur l’ouverture de l’Estuaire, à proximité du Château Tayac. Une table d’orientation m’informe sur l’histoire, le patrimoine et l’environnement alentours. Derrière moi, des vignes courent à perte de vue. Çà et là, des tours sont dissimulées au bord du chemin, vestiges de l’époque médiévale.

La route de la corniche, entre modernité et féérie

Je reprends la route et l’Estuaire se trouve bientôt camouflé par des petits jardins fleuris à flanc de falaise. Des lauriers roses, palmiers et bananiers poussent joyeusement, donnant encore plus de cachet aux habitations voisines. Mon attention est attirée par d’étranges silhouettes à travers les feuillages. Des créatures de métal semblent batifoler au milieu d’un petit pré.

Elles font écho aux sculptures en bois flotté que j’ai pu apercevoir au bord de l’eau. Le mystère ne dure pas, un habitant de Roque de Thau, devant ma perplexité, m’explique que ces bestioles font partie de l’exposition Les Revenants, qui met en scène 12 artistes sur 11 communes de la Gironde.

Une belle initiative qui contribue sans dénoter à la féérie des lieux. Ce cadre enchanteur m’accompagne quelques minutes, jusqu’à ce que la route monte brusquement vers l’intérieur des terres, laissant place à nouveau à un paysage de vignoble et de vieilles bâtisses non moins attrayant.

L’arrivée à Bourg-en-Gironde me rapproche à nouveau de l’Estuaire. Ce village ancien présente des caractéristiques communes à Blaye : bâti sur un piton rocheux, il compte lui aussi un cachet historique indéniable et une vue impressionnante.

Un village marqué par l’Histoire

Route de la corniche
Maison mauresque de Bourg-en-Gironde

Mieux vaut être en forme pour arpenter la ville : plus de 500 marches relient la ville haute et la ville basse. Au détour des rues médiévales, je tombe en arrêt sur quelques anachronismes. Visible du port, une surprenante villa Mauresque construite par un ancien fonctionnaire colonial fait face aux rives de la Dordogne.

Un peu plus loin, comme un monstre du Loch Ness local, l’épave du Frisco, navire italien coulé par les Allemands en 1944, dépasse de l’eau même à marée haute. En suivant les escaliers de pierre qui descendent du Château de la Citadelle, j’arrive dans un agréable parc où promenade au bord de l’eau et espace familial côtoient un étang et sa petite île, idéal pour pique-niquer avant de reprendre la route.

Léger détour pour relier les différents villages du coin, la route de la Corniche offre un panorama époustouflant sur l’Estuaire de la Gironde et les différentes architectures. La seule difficulté réside dans la conciliation à observer le paysage et à conduire sur certaines portions. Néanmoins, rien ne nous empêche de rouler tranquillement pour profiter des nombreux charmes du paysage.

Et pour les moins pressés, les points de vue et les chemins permettent d’apprécier pleinement tous les reliefs du terrain et les belles demeures à contempler sans modérations ! Les charmants lieux-dits ponctuent la route de possibilités de pauses appréciables et l’alternance entre l’aridité des falaises et la vigne à perte de vue font passer ces quelques kilomètres pour une croisière bien plus importante à travers les époques.

Si elle rallonge de quelques minutes le trajet entre Blaye et Bourg, la route de la corniche vaut vraiment le coup d’œil et confirme l’adage qui veut que l’important ce n’est pas la destination, mais le voyage.